Brad and Laurel's Blog

Brad and Laurel's Blog

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Chestnuts roasting on an open fire…

October 18, 2011

So, growing up in America there is a classic Christmas song with those lyrics (see the title to this post) and I always wondered what that was, “chestnuts roasting on an open fire”… but I didn’t really think people actually did it or ate it! 🙂 Here in Slovenia roasting chestnuts is a traditional and fun thing to do in the fall. Last saturday Brad and Andrej took a few youth and our kids (Eva and Landon) to the forest to pick chestnuts. Then they came back to our place and roasted them! It was really fun, the day was just gorgeous and it was so nice to be outside. We had youth coming in and out of our house all day just stopping by in between other stuff and I just loved it! Just for the record I have struggled with liking roasted chestnuts but this last time I really started to like them! I guess I am acquiring a taste!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Oh man! Those remind me of our trip to visit you all in Germany. Had them there for the first time. I love’d em…Tim, not so much. What a neat tradition…I might have to start that here. 🙂 Love and Hugs to all!

Abbey

October 18, 2011

I wondered if you used that barbeque–I had thought I would suggest it for a meal last summer–looks like a good one. Love, Oma

Elizabeth Borslien

October 22, 2011

