Brad and Laurel's Blog

Brad and Laurel's Blog

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

re-adjusting expectations…

October 26, 2009

In the past week 3-4 times I have had an expectation for what we were going to do and then circumstances have completely changed and I needed to re-adjust my expectations and be flexible.  For whatever reason this has been extremely difficult for me and I have really struggled each time.  I am not quite sure why…could have to do with that little detail of moving overseas to a new country, but that’s not really a big deal…:)! Anyway, today after having canceled the trip once already we hopped in a car with some of our teammates and drove to Austria (1 hour and a half drive) to go to IKEA so that we can finish unpacking our house and get fully settled! We had a great ride down with our friends and arrived in the big IKEA parking lot only to find….that it was completely empty!!! Apparently, today was a major national holiday and EVERYTHING was closed!! The extremely ironic part is that when we lived in Germany this very same situation had happened to us at least 2-3 times!!! We always forget to check online and see if there is a major national holiday!! I looked at Brad and said “I wonder what God is teaching me!”.  I am trying to be open handed about my schedule and expectations and know that His plans are better then my own.  I thought I would take a picture of the hours that IKEA is supposed to be open…hmmm….:)

IMG_3935

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Oh dear friend. I know EXACTLY how you feel. Its such a sad sinking feeling to see the empty IKEA parking lot.

Christina

October 30, 2009

That makes me laugh that you thought to take a picture of it! Way to embrace the situation!

Kristi

October 31, 2009

